Our Christian Calendar

The Liturgical year is separated into seasons
  • Advent 
  • Christmas
  • Epiphany
  • Ordinary Time following the presentation of Christ in the Temple
  • Lent
  • Easter which includes the Vigil and Easter Liturgy
  • Ordinary Time following Pentecost 

In our school we use the liturgical colours to express our Christian Distinctiveness. The liturgical seasons are depicted with coloured material in the Hall. 



     Season Mood

     When used


            Joy and  Rejoice      

   Christmas, Easter, Epiphany, Ascension, All Saints


        Thinking deeply and waiting

       Advent, Lent


             A time to grow

       Ordinary days  (not celebrations)


     Sad times and certain Joyful times

      Ordinary days (not celebrations)

On the following website you can find a paragraph explaining each of the areas in the Church of England Liturgical Calendar.